Socky Comfort

Life is good tonight. I’m sitting here with a plate of leftover snacks from another successful knitting ministry meeting. Tonight’s focus was community building and fellowship. Less of a Bible study lesson than I would like, but there was much laughter and getting to know one another, which is incredibly important when forming a small group. Sharing the Gospel doesn’t do much good when people feel too awkward to speak or share personal stories. Interpersonal relationships among believers build bridges to a relationship to God; I’m slowly but surely learning this.

Another happy knitting ministry meeting 🙂 #knittersofinstagram #youthministry

A post shared by Morgan DeAndrea (@daydreamknits) on

In my attempts to build comfort and community in my small living room apartment, I try and make everyone feel like they’re at home. I made an Italian sausage and potato soup for everyone to have and eat out of tea cups (because I don’t own that many bowls) and I encourage my friends to bring snacks.

Soup in a teacup before bed, because I am a lady after all

A post shared by Morgan DeAndrea (@daydreamknits) on

I put out a platter of tea options and knitting magazines and everyone crowds around my tiny little coffee table to learn to knit. It’s the bee’s knees. Tonight, I also opened up my knitting trunk and someone pulled out my recently finished entrelac socks!

IMG_2144

I’ll go ahead and offer up a disclaimer right now that this sock pattern had no mistakes and was very clearly written. When I knit them I was just drunk demented distracted a lot and really struggled to get these done. I started them all the way back in December. I used Rowan Fine Art and Dream in Color Jilly Lace. I got a few repeats beyond the heel on the right sock before…I honestly don’t know. I’m not really sure why I put these down. I don’t recall making anything instead of them. I just stopped.

IMG_2126

I picked them back up in the beginning of October (do they count for Socktober?!?!?) and instead of finishing the right sock, decided to cast on and do the left one. All fine and good, until I went to the right one, got half way done, then discovered a gaping hole in the toe and my attention was drawn to how ugly the work I’d done back in December seemed. Yeah, that’s right, I called my work ugly. The truth hurts. The heel was an atrocity and the hole in the toe was so large, it didn’t even merit being duplicate stitched closed. Maybe languishing in a project bag at the bottom of my basket for ten months made the little sock disheveled, maybe it was jacked up when I knit it. Either way, after glaring at it for thirty minutes I decided it had to be frogged.

IMG_2155

Then I made the toe longer than the toe on the left sock….I can’t even. I really don’t know how I managed that. They both fit very well, but one toe has about an extra inch on it before starting the entrelac. As a result, the right sock only has four contrast color repeats instead of five. But listen, baby, whose ever going to see these toes/be mean enough the point out the disparity? I knit on and finished these up last week.

I went tassel free because, like most people on Ravelry who’ve made these socks, I can’t imagine them being at all practical. I work with small children and I have a cat, no tassels needed. As one of my fellow knitters said ” it’s a bit much of much”. Even without the adorable tassels, these socks are much loved and shall be worn constantly. Uneven toes and all.

Uneven toes and such #ohwell #knitting #knittersofinstagram

A post shared by Morgan DeAndrea (@daydreamknits) on

NaBloPoMo November 2015

NaKniSweMo is still going strong. So far I’ve knit about five inches and am ready to start the waist decrease and increases. I’m completely in love with this sweater and the yarn is delicious. It’s a dream to work with. Its hard to capture in photos, but the blue has flecks of yellow in it that just tickle me pink. I already love the folded in hem. Right now, this sweater seems very mint-chocolate to me. Mouth watering- and I don’t even like that flavor.

How goes your NaKniSweMo sweater? What was the last project you made crazy mistakes on?

Please tell me what you think! :)

