YAW

IMG_2078

Sigh…yarn lust is a terrible beast. It keeps me up at night. When it gets really bad I dream about the yarn I want. When I visit the yarn shop, I touch the same yarn over and over, with puppy dog eyes. Its really tragic.

Jon and I agreed that my stash of yarn has become insane, and that I need to severely cut back on my yarn buying and get my stash busting life together. I’ve been incredibly good, diligently knitting away at my stash. But the beast must be fed, and I can only be good for so long.

Enter Herriot Heathers DK. Peruvian Baby Alpaca. Green. *drool*

I’ve been staring at this yarn on the shelf for well over a year, and I’d like to believe it was waiting for me. While other knitters pillaged our Herriot section (we have lace now!)  not one seemed interested in the beautiful pile of green at the bottom of the stack. Then my LYS needed someone to work some last minute hours and they’d pay in yarn. Guess what I brought home?

#willworkforyarn is real. Helped out at the shop and gladly accepted some Juniper Moon Herriot #lovelocal

A post shared by Morgan DeAndrea (@daydreamknits) on

I’ve been wanting a casual pullover for a while now. I only have two, a plush white mohair one and a Teeney Park entrelac sweater . I love them, but they aren’t something you just throw on and run out the house with. Norah Gaughn’s Yaw is exactly what I wanted. I love the oversized fit and long sleeves, the lace detail over the shoulders, the way the boat neck rests right on the edge of the shoulders. *Dreamy eyes*. The alpaca has the perfect amount of drape for this sweater and the heather green gives the lace a very nice texture.

IMG_2082

I was so excited to knit this sweater that I knocked it out in about two weeks. I even brought it on a hiking trip to Devil’s Den. This Herriot is a dream to knit with, and I look forward to getting more…sorry Jon.

IMG_2054

Pattern Notes:
I think this pattern had a few technical errors for my size; I noticed the numbers would be consistently off by a few stitches and the center panel was skewed. I go over that on my ravelry page here . They’re minor errors and easily fixed with a few ktogs and m1s. The biggest problem people seemed to have while making this was that it was too tight and did not drape. I’m not really sure why that was an issue though, the pattern calls for 6″ of positive ease. I knit my size on gauge had had no issues.

IMG_2080

I’m very happy to finally have a casual pullover and I foresee this being worn a lot this season.

 NaBloPoMo November 2015
It’s November which means NaKniSweMo and NaBloPoMo have begun! I have a lot of knitting plans this month and am excited to try and blog about it daily. I don’t have many expectations about what I’ll get done, though. I just want to enjoy the ride. Today I cast on for the Orangje cardigan out of Debbie Bliss Fine Donegal. So far I’m in love, wonder if I can keep up the momentum?

Cast on for#nakniswemo and #nablopomo2015 Orangje fair isle cardigan by Amy Weaver!

A post shared by Morgan DeAndrea (@daydreamknits) on

Is anyone else attempting NaKniSweMo or NaBloPoMo or any other variation? What sweater are you trying to crank out?

