Wednesday Observations- NaKniSweMo

There is so much stuff that happens in the knitting community that I’m still finding out about! I suppose I could have assumed that there would be a month dedicated to knitting a sweater. There’s WIP Wednesdays, FO Fridays, Holiday events, Socktober, why not a sweater in a month?

I’ve joined the NaKniSweMo KAL on Ravelry and am eagerly awaiting the first of November. My goal? Opera by Elise Dupont!

Photo Property of Elise Dupont Designs

Photo Property of Elise Dupont Designs

A yummy and simple stripped pullover. I’m glad to finally have an excuse to start this. I’ve had the yarn stashed away at my LYS for a while now and I’m determined to up my sweater/cardigan count significantly by the end of cold days this year. Notice how obscure that timeline is? It’s so I can procrastinate. I’m eager to work on this because Dupont boast a new technique in waist shaping and color placement to get the perfect figure flattering sweater. What about that doesn’t sound fantastic and entertaining?

Photo Property of Elise Dupont Designs

Photo Property of Elise Dupont Designs

 

“Opera is a pullover perfect to draw attention to your waist, thanks to the subtle stripes at the elbow.

Knitted from top down, in one piece, the sleeves are set-in sleeves in round. This pullover has a unique waist and hips shaping construction : the decreases are placed at the front and the back. As most of us have a curvier back, more decreases & increases are worked at the back than at the front to follow closely your body shape.”

My yarns of choice?

Madeline Tosh DK Bloomsbury 

And Sublime Baby Cashmere Merino Silk Dk 0218-Brown

 20131030-173618.jpg

20131030-173634.jpg

Is anyone else participating this year? Whats your sweater of choice? Please join the NaKniSweMo on Ravelry and add to the fun!

Happy Knitting 🙂

Please tell me what you think! :)

