Wednesday Observations: Is Your Knitting American Made?

Do you try to buy American made? I never used to. Before I came to college, In my home town the only stores are Wal-Mart…thats it. I’m from a very small town with little to no home grown business. This never really bothered me, it’s just how it was. However, once I moved to Fayetteville I was bombarded ,in a good way, with tons of motivation to “buy local”, “Keep Fayetteville Funky” and to support local and national business.

5606784402_368496a132_b
My lovely Farmer’s Market

I think this is an awesome idea and love the environment it produces. The idea of promoting home town support got me wondering if I could knit ‘Made in America’ only. If asked to only use American Made knitting materials, what exactly would I have to use?

First of all, my yarn would be an issue. While I diligently only purchase yarn at my  local yarn shop, that doesn’t mean all of the yarn I purchase is American Made. In fact, I’m sure that the majority of it is Italian, Peruvian, Chilean, and British due to my insatiable lust for Ella Rae, Araucania, and Rowan yarns and designs. The only big name American Yarn manufacturers that I know are Red Heart, Caron, Lion Brand, and Brown Sheep. Brown Sheep is the only one of the four that produces yarn at a quality and type I enjoy. So, as of right now, if I only knit with American Made yarn, I could use three skeins of green Brown Sheep, leftover from my mother’s Billie…hm. In my research I found some pretty interesting stuff about local yarn! Tanis Gray of TanisKnits actually wrote a book about “Knit Local” . You can read her interview with Vogue Knitting about it here and purchase the book here. 1906

I then moved onto my knitting bags. I have several, an understatement. The fever never stops. I’d only be able to use two of my [growing] collection, The Brown Leather Hobo Bag and the Cézanne. Lantern Moon is a Vietnamese based company, but you can visit one of their main offices in Portland, Oregon, great excuse to go to Oregon.

Left to RIght: Unknown, Brown Leather Hobo Page, Cezanne, Lantern Moon: Maya Bag, Lantern Moon: Swing Bucket Bag
Left to RIght: Unknown, Brown Leather Hobo Bag: ArtCityBags, Cezanne:Jordana Paige, Lantern Moon: Maya Bag, Lantern Moon: Swing Bucket Bag

But what about my actual knitting tools? I wouldn’t be able to use my Addie clicks! They are all made in Germany by Skacel. Sadly, I don’t think I’d be able to use my beloved Knitters Pride Dreamz needles, which are my primary work needles.

The original concept and production of these needles originated in India by KnitPro. However, they have released US sub plants in America, which came up of the idea of Dreamz by themselves. So does that really count…?

IMG_1108

So it seems that my knitting foundation would be taken away from me. However, many of my nifty knitting accessories fit the bill of American Made. Why? Because Etsy is awesome.

 The floral journal is WolfiesBindery, The small moleskin is Shoofly, the cute animal journal is BoyGirlParty, the pearl stitch markers are Lady Danio, annnnd the abacuses and matching stitch markers are The Crooked Elm.
The floral journal is WolfiesBindery, The small moleskin is Shoofly, the cute animal journal is BoyGirlParty, the pearl stitch markers are Lady Danio, annnnd the abacuses and matching stitch markers are The Crooked Elm.

Really awesome. 20131002-133547.jpg So thats the….American-ness of my little knitting workshop. I’d have no yarn, no needles, and a lot of cute accessories. What is yours like?

Interested in American Made supplies and goodies? Heres what I found!

The Big Three American Yarn Manufacturers 

Made in America Yarns

Made in U.S Challenge: This website is a branch of the Beads&Brass knitting blog. The author dedicates this website to finding all sorts of products that are American made, so if you’re really into it, pretty sure you can find just about anything through this site’s MasterList. Hope you find the links useful!

Happy knitting 🙂

