Friday Field Work- Into the Horizon

I love wearing summer knits during transitional weather. Just because summer’s bright colors are fading away doesn’t mean you have to immediately switch to dark royal blue, purple, and browns. In fact, wearing bright summer colors can give everything around you an extra pop. Want one of these knits? I present to you, the Horizon shawl by Grace Anna Farrow.

IMG_0940

Created from four differently sized triangles joined to create the correct length, then worked as chevrons of various sizes until the correct width, then decreased into separate triangle sections, this unique construction may change the way any knitter looks at the rectangle.”- The Fine Line

Farrow certainly wasn’t exaggerating when she suggested that this unique knit will take you out of your comfort zone for knitting shapes and bring you to the edge of an entirely new horizon, pun definitely intended.

IMG_0945

I worked on the bulk of this knit while on a summer cruise to the Bahamas with my mom and her family. Honestly, I wouldn’t recommend it for travel, but if you can stay organized, go for it. I was always walking around with a large bag with about 6 different colors of yarn in my bag at all times. At the beach, in the lobby, eating dinner, and lounging with family; its sort of a miracle that this project didn’t come to a stand still simply because my lace weight yarns knotted up.

IMG_0981

But don’t get me wrong, this knit came to a huge halt, all right.

There are a handful of problems with the instructions for this knit, however, before I get into criticisms, I’d first like to give a huge thank you to both  krebinette and Grace Anna Farrow. Both were incredibly helpful when I was in desperate need of direction. Krebinette knit an amazing Horizon (that you should seriously go look at right now!) She is all the way over in Aalborg, Denmark, and yet she found the time to answer my messages almost instantly with kind words, advice and encouragement, with no sign of annoyance at my notoriously long and excessively detailed messages. Thank you, thank you!

Horizon was my problem child of the collection (there is always one).” -Grace Ann Farrow in an email to Krebinette when she emailed her, on my behalf while I lacked wifi on the ship, about some of the issues I was having.

If that isn’t the mark of a down to earth, awesome, super sweet designer then I don’t know what is! Even though I kept emailing about issues I was finding in the pattern, Farrow remained super nice and promptly replied to all of my messages! I always feel like I’m over stepping my bounds when I call a designer out on an already published pattern. They’ve already put so much work into it, who am I to knit pick? (haha, punny) However, all the designers I’ve spoken with so far seem happy to admit that even they still make “silly” mistakes or have trouble translating what they understand in their head into “layman’s terms”. Also, I just hate bothering people.  The moral of this little tidbit being that when in doubt, try again, try again, then email the designer with the title of your message being “Please help me ASAP and may the gods and goddesses of knitting bless you for your generous time and patience. I am not worthy”. Now on to some of the road blocks in this pattern.

IMG_0968

First of all. This knit calls for six colors, and lets just say the pattern doesn’t make the order of said colors very easy to understand. My boss and I spent a good hour trying to coordinate the listed colors and their order on the pattern with the actual picture. Wasn’t matching up. And believe me, we really, really tried.

The struggle is real.

The struggle is real.

So, you know. Beware of that. I found it easier to simply look at the model photo on the last page of the pattern. Which raised a different problem…..

1. The picture on that page has more rows than the actual written instructions. No problem for smart little me, though. I’ll just assume the photo is correct and the written instructions are wrong. So I’ll just do what the photo looks like and it’ll be right. Right?!

Nope. I guess my shawl isn’t “wrong” but it has more stripes than everyone else’s and is not what the pattern would make. Honestly, I don’t mind. In my case, I ended up with an extra chevron of blue and yellow at the bottom; I find that it evens out my particular color palette. However, as always, I’ll recommend following written directions and if you find a disconnect between the instructions and pictures, go ahead and check for Errata or email the designer.

A lot of times designers will make several versions of the same shawl and when you have four shawls that are all the same colors and size, its fantastically easy to grab the wrong one while you’re headed out the door to the photo shoot.

 This is NOT the correct shawl. It has extra chevrons at the bottom and if you follow the directions you will have an extra set of the bright colors.

Photo Property of Grace Anna Farrow: This is NOT the correct shawl. It has extra chevrons at the bottom and if you follow the directions you will not have those.

2. There are some minor errata in this shawl such as the color mix up, the picture of the shawl, and the description for the garter stitch stripe. If you follow the directions it’ll be st. Simple fix, but if you aren’t paying attention, you’ll end up with an entire shawl in St st. Which, again, would be nice, but not if you were looking forward to the pop and definition of the garter stripes.

However, there is a very very big boo boo in this pattern. Big.

3. Once you reach the 1st  Center Decrease section the directions neglect to tell you that at some point you must turn your work and only work back and forth over a certain amount of stitches. Without doing this you will end up with a really crazy lopsided triangle, and you’ll be really upset.

This error continues throughout the pattern. I assumed that the turn was necessary but seeing that the error continued through the rest of the pattern, I was daunted and preferred to not knit at all instead of making a huge mistake. I thought, maybe I just wasn’t reading something right or maybe it said somewhere in the pattern that after the first decrease (which does tell you to turn your work) you should repeat the process. This put my project on hold for about two weeks.

Here is the edit: 1st center decrease pattern. Before line 1; ssk, k to 1st marked stitch, sl2, k1, psso, k to 2sts before next marked stitch. Ktog, turn, work only on these stitches until decrease is complete.

For any other decrease in the pattern repeat this step.

Thats it! I’d say that judging by how interesting the construction of this shawl is, these are pretty understandable errata. Honestly, an advanced knitter would see the mistakes and be able to truck on threw it by using “common knitting sense”. I still get cold feet though. 🙂 I absolutely recommend this knit! It is perfect year around and so bright and yummy. Give it a try!

Yarn details can be found on my Ravelry page. Have a happy weekend! Stitch on!

P.S. Please don’t be turned off by having to buy an entire e-book to get this pattern. The book is full of beautiful knits! Get it, get it, get it!

3 thoughts on “Friday Field Work- Into the Horizon

  1. Pingback: Ursa | Daydream Knits

Please tell me what you think! :)

